Spirit Awards 2014: Full List of Winners

road to the oscars

Matthew McConaughey wins for Best Actor. Again.

Mar 2, 2014 | 08:54 PM

Matthew McConaughey does it again. 

The "True Detective" star won the Independent Spirit Award for Best Male Lead for his role in "Dallas Buyers Club." (Co-star Jared Leto received the Best Supporting Male award.)

Currently in its 28th year, the Film Independent Spirit Awards is the premier awards event for the independent film community. This year's edition was hosted by Patton Oswalt and included Reese Witherspoon as one of the night's presenters.  



Check out the full list of winners below:   

Best Feature:
“12 Years a Slave”  *WINNER
“All Is Lost”
“Frances Ha”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”

Best Director:
Shane Carruth, “Upstream Color”
J.C. Chandor, “All is Lost”
Steve McQueen, “12 Years a Slave”  *WINNER
Jeff Nichols, “Mud”
Alexander Payne, “Nebraska”

Best Screenplay:
Woody Allen, “Blue Jasmine”
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, and Richard Linklater, “Before Midnight”
Nicole Holofcener, “Enough Said”
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, “The Spectacular Now”
John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”  *WINNER

Best Female Lead:
Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine” *WINNER
Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”
Gaby Hoffman, “Crystal Fairy”
Brie Larson, “Short Term 12″
Shailene Woodley, “The Spectacular Now”

Best Male Lead:
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”
Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Michael B. Jordan, “Fruitvale Station”
Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club”  *WINNER
Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”

Best Supporting Female:
Melonie Diaz, “Fruitvale Station”
Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”
Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave” *WINNER
Yolonda Ross, “Go for Sisters”
June Squibb, “Nebraska”

Best Supporting Male:
Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”
Will Forte, “Nebraska”
James Gandolfini, “Enough Said”
Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Club” *WINNER
Keith Stanfield, “Short Term 12”

Best First Feature:
“Blue Caprice”
“Fruitvale Station” *WINNER
“Una Noche”

Best First Screenplay:
“In a World,” Lake Bell
“Don Jon,” Joseph Gordon-Levitt
“Nebraska,” Bob Nelson *WINNER
“Afternoon Delight,” Jill Soloway
“The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete,” Michael Starrbury

John Cassavetes Award:
“Computer Chess”
“Crystal Fairy”
“Museum Hours”
“Pit Stop”
“This Is Martin Bonner”  *WINNER

Best Cinematography:
Sean Bobbit, “12 Years a Slave”  *WINNER
Benoit Debie, “Spring Breakers”
Bruno Delbonnel, “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Frank G. DeMarco, “All Is Lost”
Matthias Grunsky, “Computer Chess”

Best Editing:
Shane Carruth & David Lowery, “Upstream Color”
Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, “Museum Hours”
Jennifer Lame, “Frances Ha”
Cindy Lee, “Una Noche”
Nat Sanders, “Short Term 12”  *WINNER

Best Documentary:
“20 Feet From Stardom”  *WINNER
“After Tiller”
“Gideon’s Army”
“The Act of Killing”
“The Square”

Best International Film:
“A Touch of Sin”
“Blue Is the Warmest Color”  *WINNER
“The Great Beauty”
“The Hunt”

Robert Altman Award (given to a film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast): “Mud”
Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
Someone to Watch Award: “Newlyweeds,” Shake King
Truer Than Fiction Award: “Let the Fire Burn,” Jason Osder

Cover image: Facebook.com/DallasBuyersClub

More on WhoSay:

You might also like

Now on People